The constitution of Kenya chapter 11 part three article 186 is the legal backing on formation of municipalities in Kenya. Article 184 mentions that the national government provides legislation for governance and management of urban areas. An act of parliament was passed to amend the constitution of Kenya through the urban area and cities act 2011. This is referred to as the principal act.

The urban areas and cities act of 2011 was amended by parliament in 2017 and ascended to by the president in 2019 thus the current amended law is now referred to as urban areas and cities act of 2019.

This is the law that that guides the creation and governance of urban Ares in Kenya. The Governor of a county government may through the county assembly classify an urban area to a municipality if the resident population is more than 50000 and less than 250000. Change or alteration of boundaries shall be initiated by the cabinet secretary or by the relevant county government by making a request to the cabinet secretary. Each municipality shall have a municipal charter that shall be signed by the Governor, approved by the assembly and gazette.

The County has three municipalities: Machakos, Mavoko and Kangundo – Tala.

They were formed with the support of the WBG through the Kenya Urban Support Programme (KUSP).

KUSP’s aim is to establish and strengthen urban institutions to deliver improved infrastructure and services.

The program supports infrastructural development in 5 key functional areas, i.e. Waste management (liquid & solid), Storm water drainage, Connectivity, Urban economic infrastructure, Fire and disaster management.

Comments are closed.

Close Search Window